top of page
Mejia, Tehlor Kay - We Set the Dark on Fire

Mejia, Tehlor Kay - We Set the Dark on Fire

$11.99Price
YA Fantasy----February 26, 2019----Fantasy - Contemporary, Romance - LGBT, Social Themes - Class Differences

In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida Córdova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.

At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband's household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class.

Daniela Vargas is the school's top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society.

And school couldn't prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio.

Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she's strived for in pursuit of a free Medio--and a chance at a forbidden love?


We Set the Dark on Fire
Tehlor Kay Mejia (Author)
Buy new or used from an indie through our partner Biblio:
PriceConditionSeller
$11.00Very GoodJake's Place Books
$8.86GoodBetter World Books
$35.00Near FineWest Side Books
Description
"We Set the Dark on Fire burns bright. It will light the way for a new generation of rebels and lovers." --NPR

"Mejia pens a compelling, gripping story that mirrors real world issues of immigration and equality." --Buzzfeed

Five starred reviews!!

In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida Córdova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.

At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband's household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class.

Daniela Vargas is the school's top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society.

And school couldn't prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio.

Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she's strived for in pursuit of a free Medio--and a chance at a forbidden love?

Product Details
Price
$17.99  $16.55
Publisher
Katherine Tegen Books
Publish Date
February 26, 2019
Pages
384
Dimensions
5.5 X 8.4 X 1.5 inches | 1.0 pounds
Language
English
Type
Hardcover
EAN/UPC
9780062691316
BISAC Categories:
Fantasy - Contemporary
Romance - LGBT
Social Themes - Class Differences
Your Affiliate Link
https://bookshop.org/a/3113/9780062691316
 COPY
 Add to My Book Lists  Manage Book Lists
Embeddable Affiliate Widgets
Include this code on your website to embed Bookshop widgets.
 COPY Book Widget
 COPY Book button Widget
 COPY Search Widget
About the Author
TEHLOR KAY MEJIA is a bestselling and award winning author of young adult and middle grade fiction.

Her debut young adult novel, We Set the Dark on Fire, received six starred reviews, as well as the Oregon Spirit Book Award for debut fiction, and the Neukom Institute Literary Arts Award runner up honor for debut speculative fiction. It has been featured on Seventeen, Cosmopolitan, and O by Oprah Magazine's best books lists, and was a 2019 book of the year selection by Kirkus and School Library Journal. Its sequel, We Unleash the Merciless Storm, followed to continuing acclaim, while Miss Meteor (co-written with National Book Award Nominee Anna-Mari
bottom of page