top of page
Middle Grade Book Club May 2023
Middle Grade Book Club May 2023

Sun, May 21

|

Under the Umbrella

Middle Grade Book Club May 2023

Registration is closed
See other events

Time & Location

May 21, 2023, 1:00 PM

Under the Umbrella, 511 W 200 S Suite 120, Salt Lake City, UT 84101, USA

About the Event

About the Middle Grade Book Club

Join us for a book club celebrating LGBTQ+ inclusive books for young folks! Monthly club meetings include a book talk, a coordinating activity, and good company. Reading the book of the month is recommended, but not required. All are welcome!

Follow @mystorybelongs on Instagram for more details.

If you purchase next month's book club pick at the end of the meeting, you'll get 10% off that book!

COVID Precautions: It is a requirement for both the bookstore and the book club to wear a mask.

About the Book

Stonewall Honor Book!

From award-winning actor Maulik Pancholy comes a hilarious and heartfelt middle grade debut about a gay Indian American boy coming into his own, now in paperback. Perfect for fans of Tim Federle’s Nate series.

Rahul Kapoor is heading into seventh grade in a small town in Indiana. The start of middle school is making him feel increasingly anxious, so his favorite person in the whole world, his grandfather Bhai, gives him some well-meaning advice: Find one thing you’re really good at and become the BEST at it.

Those four little words sear themselves into Rahul’s brain. While he’s not quite sure what that special thing is, he is convinced that once he finds it, bullies like Brent Mason will stop torturing him at school. And he won’t be worried about staring too long at his classmate Justin Emery. With his best friend, Chelsea, by his side, Rahul is ready to crush this challenge.... But what if he discovers he isn’t the best at anything?

Funny, charming, and incredibly touching, this is a story about friendship, family, and the courage it takes to live your truth.

Share This Event

bottom of page