top of page
Middle Grade Book Club January 2023
Middle Grade Book Club January 2023

Sun, Jan 22

|

Under the Umbrella

Middle Grade Book Club January 2023

This month we're reading Ana on the Edge by AJ Sass

Registration is closed
See other events

Time & Location

Jan 22, 2023, 1:00 PM

Under the Umbrella, 511 W 200 S Suite 120, Salt Lake City, UT 84101, USA

About the Event

About the Middle Grade Book Club

Join us for a book club celebrating LGBTQ+ inclusive books for young folks! Monthly club meetings include a book talk, a coordinating activity, and good company. Reading the book of the month is recommended, but not required. All are welcome!

Follow @mystorybelongs on Instagram for more details.

If you purchase next month's book club pick at the end of the meeting, you'll get 10% off that book!

COVID Precautions: It is a requirement for both the bookstore and the book club to wear a mask.

About the Book

Perfect for fans of George and Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World: a heartfelt coming of age story about a nonbinary character navigating a binary world.

Twelve-year-old Ana-Marie Jin, the reigning US Juvenile figure skating champion, is not a frilly dress kind of kid. So, when Ana learns that next season's program will be princess themed, doubt forms fast. Still, Ana tries to focus on training and putting together a stellar routine worthy of national success. Once Ana meets Hayden, a transgender boy new to the rink, thoughts about the princess program and gender identity begin to take center stage. And when Hayden mistakes Ana for a boy, Ana doesn't correct him and finds comfort in this boyish identity when he's around. As their friendship develops, Ana realizes that it's tricky juggling two different identities on one slippery sheet of ice. And with a major competition approaching, Ana must decide whether telling everyone the truth is worth risking years of hard work and sacrifice.

Buy the book here!

Share This Event

bottom of page